E. W. Müller Outstanding Emerging Scientist Award

This award, the most prestigious in the IFES community, recognises an emerging scientist for a recent and original work in the field of field emission, field ionization, or related phenomena. This includes, but is not limited to, technique development, applications or theory development. This prize is highly competitive and the winner is selected during the APT&M conference, at the conclusion of a 2-stage selection process.

This year's finalists are listed below:


Eason Chen The University of Sydney
Jonathan Op de Beeck IMEC
Charles Fletcher University of Oxford
Shyam Katnagallu Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Benjamin Klaes Normandy University
Christian Bacchi Normandy University


Abstracts submitted by each of the finalists can be read in the pdf linked. 

The winner will be chosen by the Müller Award Panel following presentations given on Day 1 of the APT&M 2020 virtual meeting. Good luck to all finalists!